Skip to Main Content

Trustees & Governance

Meet our Trustees and read their online biographies.


  • sir john bell 7mb

    Professor Sir John Bell GBE (Alberta & Magdalen 1975)


  • Ngaire Woods 251x251

    Professor Ngaire Woods CBE (New Zealand & Balliol 1987)

    Professor of International Political Economy, University of Oxford

  • donald j gogel 10 7 09

    Mr Don Gogel (New Jersey & Balliol 1971)

    Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Clayton Dubilier & Rice

  • Hon. Karen L. Stevenson 7MB

    Judge Karen Stevenson (Maryland & DC & Magdalen 1979)

    United States Magistrate Judge

  • Ghosh 1 PNG

    Dame Helen Ghosh DCB

    Master of Balliol

  • JAMES Glen (039)

    Mr Glen James

    Retired law partner of Slaughter and May

  • Andrew Banks New

    Mr Andrew Banks (Florida & St Edmund Hall 1976)

    Co-Founder, ABRY Partners

  • Nicky Oppenheimer

    Mr Nicholas Oppenheimer

    Chairman of Oppenheimer Memorial Trust

  • Tariro 2015

    Dr Tariro Makadzange (Zimbabwe & Balliol 1999)

    Medical Scientist in Boston and Zimbabwe

  • Elleke Boehmer

    Professor Elleke Boehmer (South Africa-at-Large and St John's 1985)

    Professor of World Literature in English, University of Oxford

  • Dilip Shanghvi

    Mr Dilip Shanghvi

    Indian businessman and co-founder of Sun Pharmaceuticals

  • Mike Fitzpatrick

    Mr Mike Fitzpatrick AO (Western Australia & St John's 1975)

    Chairman of Pacific Current Group

  • Peter Stamos

    Dr Peter Stamos (California & Worcester 1981)

    Founder, Chief Executive Officer of Stamos Capital Partners

  • Bob

    Mr Bob Sternfels (California & Worcester 1992)

    Senior Partner at McKinsey & Company

  • Kate

    Professor Kate O'Regan

    Inaugural director of the Bonavero Institute of Human Rights at the University of Oxford

  • obrien karen   small

    Professor Karen O'Brien

    Head of Humanities Division and Professor of English Literature

  • Neetibhalla 57B207bd5ec6202a

    Ms Neeti Bhalla (Kenya & Templeton 1998)

    Executive Vice President and Chief Investment Officer for Liberty Mutual Insurance Group

  • Swatiheadshot8edit 6Cb066c486964891

    Swati Mylavarapu (Florida & Wolfson 2005)

    Founder of, a values-based investor and co-founder of Arena.

Trustees Emeritus

  • John Hood image from robertson foundation

    Sir John Hood KNZM (New Zealand & Worcester 1976)

    Former Chairman

  • Julian Ogilvie Thompson

    Mr Julian Ogilvie Thompson (Diocesan College, Rondebosch & Worcester 1953)

    Former Chairman, Anglo American and DeBeers SA

  • Mike McCaffery 1

    Mr Michael McCaffery (Pennsylvania & Merton 1975)

    Board Chairman and Managing Director, Makena Capital

  • mccall macbainfull

    Mr John McCall MacBain O.C. (Québec & Wadham 1980)

    Second Century Founder, Rhodes Trust; Founder and President, McCall MacBain Foundation and Pamoja Capital

  • Dominic Barton 1

    Mr Dominic Barton (British Columbia & Brasenose 1984)

    Chancellor, University of Waterloo

  • john wylie 1 process s110x160 (1)

    Mr John Wylie, AM (Queensland & Balliol 1983)

    Managing Director and Head of Corporate Advisory for Lazard

Governance documents

The Rhodes Scholarships were established under the will of Cecil John Rhodes (1853-1902)

The terms of the will and its codicils were subsequently changed on four separate occasions: the Rhodes Estate Act of of 1916 (formally abolishing the German Scholarships during World War I), the Rhodes Trust Act of 1929 (which granted greater discretionary powers to the Trustees), the Rhodes Trust Act of 1946 (which formalised the incorporation of the Trustees), and the Rhodes Trust (Modification) Order of 1976 (which, at the initiative of the Trustees, opened the Scholarships to women for the first time).