Find out more about applying for the Rhodes Scholarship

Find out more about applying for the Rhodes Scholarship


Trustees, Governance & Financial Statements

Meet our Trustees and read their online biographies as well as learning more about the governance and finances of the Rhodes Trust.


Professor Sir John Bell

Professor Sir John Bell GBE CH (Alberta & Magdalen 1975)

Professor Dapo Akande

Professor Dapo Akande

Professor of Public International Law, Blavatnik School of Government
Mr Andrew Banks

Mr Andrew Banks (Florida & St Edmund Hall 1976)

Co-Founder, ABRY Partners
Mr Doug Beck

Mr Doug Beck (California & New College 1992)

Director, Defense Innovation Unit
Ms Neeti Bhalla

Ms Neeti Bhalla (Kenya & Templeton 1998)

Executive Vice President and Chief Investment Officer for Liberty Mutual Insurance Group
Professor Elleke Boehmer

Professor Elleke Boehmer (South Africa-at-Large and St John's 1985)

Professor of World Literature in English, University of Oxford
Professor Charlotte Deane

Professor Charlotte Deane MBE

Professor of Structural Bioinformatics, University of Oxford
Mr Mike Fitzpatrick

Mr Mike Fitzpatrick AO (Western Australia & St John's 1975)

Chairman of Pacific Current Group
Dr Menaka Guruswamy

Dr Menaka Guruswamy (India & University 1998)

Senior Advocate at the Supreme Court of India
Mr Robert Harrison

Mr Robert Harrison (New Jersey & St John's 1976)

Chairman Emeritus, Cornell University
Mr Glen James

Mr Glen James

Retired law partner of Slaughter and May
Dr Tariro Makadzange

Dr Tariro Makadzange (Zimbabwe & Balliol 1999)

CEO and Founder of Charles River Medical Group
This is an alt tag

Ms Swati Mylavarapu (Florida & Wolfson 2005)

Founder of, a values-based investor and co-founder of Arena
Professor Kate O'Regan

Professor Kate O'Regan

Inaugural director of the Bonavero Institute of Human Rights at the University of Oxford
Mr Christopher G Oechsli

Mr Christopher G Oechsli

President and CEO of The Atlantic Philanthropies
Professor Sir Nigel Shadbolt

Professor Sir Nigel Shadbolt

Principal of Jesus College, Oxford and Chairman of the Open Data Institute
Peter Stamos

Dr Peter Stamos (California & Worcester 1981)

Founder, Chief Executive Officer of Stamos Capital Partners
Mr Bob Sternfels

Mr Bob Sternfels (California & Worcester 1992)

Global Managing Partner of McKinsey & Company
Mr Fred Swaniker

Mr Fred Swaniker

Founder & CEO, African Leadership Group

Trustees Emeritus

Mr Dominic Barton

Mr Dominic Barton (British Columbia & Brasenose 1984)

Chancellor, University of Waterloo
Mr Don Gogel

Mr Don Gogel (New Jersey & Balliol 1971)

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Clayton Dubilier & Rice
Sir John Hood

Sir John Hood KNZM (New Zealand & Worcester 1976)

Former Chairman
Mr Mike McCaffery

Mr Michael McCaffery (Pennsylvania & Merton 1975)

Board Chairman and Managing Director, Makena Capital
Mr John McCall MacBain

Mr John McCall MacBain O.C. (Québec & Wadham 1980)

Second Century Founder, Rhodes Trust; Founder and President, McCall MacBain Foundation and Pamoja Capital
Mr Nicholas Oppenheimer

Mr Nicholas Oppenheimer

Chairman of Oppenheimer Memorial Trust
Karen Stevenson

Hon. Karen Stevenson (Maryland/DC & Magdalen 1979)

U.S Magistrate Judge for the Central District of California
Ngaire Woods

Professor Ngaire Woods CBE (New Zealand & Balliol 1987)

Professor of International Political Economy, University of Oxford
Mr John Wylie

Mr John Wylie, AC (Queensland & Balliol 1983)

Managing Director and Head of Corporate Advisory for Lazard

Governance documents

The Rhodes Scholarships were established under the will of Cecil John Rhodes (1853-1902)

The terms of the will and its codicils were subsequently changed on four separate occasions: the Rhodes Estate Act of of 1916 (formally abolishing the German Scholarships during World War I), the Rhodes Trust Act of 1929 (which granted greater discretionary powers to the Trustees), the Rhodes Trust Act of 1946 (which formalised the incorporation of the Trustees), and the Rhodes Trust (Modification) Order of 1976 (which, at the initiative of the Trustees, opened the Scholarships to women for the first time).

Annual Reports