Skip to Main Content


Find out if you meet the criteria to become a Rhodes Scholar and start your application. We offer scholarships in over 22 designated Rhodes constituencies, as well as our Global Rhodes Scholarships, visit our 'Which Scholarship' page for more details.

Before you start your application we would recommend that you read through the online information on the Rhodes Scholarships and the application guidance. This information can be found across the following pages:

The Rhodes Scholarships for Australia

Each year, there are nine Scholarships available for Australia.

The first Australian Rhodes Scholars took up residence in Oxford in 1904, and since that time many hundreds of Australians have been awarded the Scholarship.

Of the nine scholarships available each year in Australia, each state offers one Scholarship that is awarded by a selection committee of seven members (including three Rhodes Scholars) based in the state. In addition, there are three Australia-at-Large Scholarships awarded by a selection committee based in Canberra. This selection committee will consider applicants from the ACT and other territories of the Commonwealth, as well as those candidates nominated by state selection committees. Please note that applicants cannot apply directly to Australia-at-Large.

Prospective applicants from Australia should carefully review the Information for Candidates specific for Australia, below. Please note that, as Australia’s international border will remain closed throughout 2021, applicants who are living outside Australia will not be required to participate in-person in the selection process in 2021.

They should then contact their State or Territory Honorary Secretary to discuss their eligibility to apply, and for general information on the preparation of applications and the selection of referees.

Opening date: 1 July 2021
Closing date: 23:59, AEST, 10 September 2021

National Secretary for Australia 

Professor Peter Kanowski

Deputy National Secretaries for Australia

Professor Marnie Hughes-Warrington

Professor John Watson
Associate Dean and Head of School, Sydney Adventist Hospital Clinical School

Professor Merlin Crossley
Deputy Vice-Chancellor Education, University of New South Wales

Administrator and Contact: Central Scholarships
Division of Student Administration
The Australian National University

*A constituency is a country, a group of countries, and/or territories, and/or states for the purposes of administering scholarships.

The Rhodes Trust warmly welcomes applications from talented young persons of diverse backgrounds. Selection of Rhodes Scholars is made without regard to gender, gender identity, marital status, sexual orientation, race, ethnic origin, colour, religion, social background, caste, or disability.