Find out more about applying for the Rhodes Scholarship

Find out more about applying for the Rhodes Scholarship


You are here : Applications > Australia


The Rhodes Scholarships for Australia

There are nine Scholarships available each year for Australia.

The first Australian Rhodes Scholars took up residence in Oxford in 1904, and many hundreds of outstanding Australians have been awarded the Scholarship since.

Six of the scholarships for Australia are awarded by selection committees based in each state; each elect one Scholar. In addition, a Territories selection committee considers candidates from the Australian Commonwealth Territories; it does not elect a Scholar directly. Each of these seven committees may nominate up to two candidates for consideration by the national Australia-at Large committee, which may award up to three Australia-at-Large Scholarships. Please note that candidates cannot apply directly for the Australia-at-Large Scholarship.

Prospective candidates should contact their State or Territory Honorary Secretary to discuss their eligibility and for general information on the preparation of applications and the selection of referees. Candidates from Australian universities are encouraged also to contact the Rhodes Advisor at your university.

Opening date: 3 June 2024
Closing date: 23:59 AEST, 12 August 2024

As the Rhodes Scholarships are place-based, the eligibility criteria, application requirements and selection process vary slightly depending on which constituency you are applying for. To ensure that you have all of the information you need to apply, please read the Information for Candidates - specific for Australia - carefully. You should also check the Conditions of Tenure to ensure that your proposed course of study is covered by the Rhodes Scholarship and share the Guidance for Referees with your referees. These documents can all be accessed below.

If you have read all of the information above and are ready to apply for the Rhodes Scholarship, you can use the below button to to start the application process. Make sure to check the opening and closing dates above as the form won’t be available outside of these dates!

If you need any support with your application, please use the navigation bar to reach our Additional Resources page.

National Secretary for Australia 

Selection for the Rhodes Scholarships takes place in each constituency and is overseen by the relevant National Secretary and their team. Below you can find out who the National Secretary is and how to contact them should you need to.

Professor Peter Kanowski

Deputy National Secretaries for Australia

Professor Marnie Hughes-Warrington AO

Professor John Watson
Director, The Eccles Institute of Neuroscience, The Australian National University

Professor Merlin Crossley
Deputy Vice-Chancellor Education, University of New South Wales

Administrator and Contact: Megan Browne 
Division of Student Administration
The Australian National University

State and Territories Secretaries and Administrators