Skip to Main Content

Rhodes Trust 120th Anniversary Reunion

Rhodes120 Logo Horizontal White RGB Blue

Your are here : Applications > India

Application Process

The Rhodes Scholarship is the oldest (first awarded in 1902) international scholarship programme, enabling outstanding young people from around the world to study at the University of Oxford.


The Rhodes Scholarships for India

A Partnership between the Rhodes Trust and the Second Century Founder, John McCall MacBain O.C.

There are five Rhodes Scholarships available each year for India.

The first Indian Rhodes Scholars took up residence in Oxford in 1947, and since that time over two hundred Indians have been awarded the Scholarship.

Opening date: 1 June 2023
Closing date: 23:59, Indian Standard Time, 01 August 2023

As the Rhodes Scholarships are place-based, the eligibility criteria, application requirements and selection process vary slightly depending on which constituency you are applying for. To ensure that you have all of the information you need to apply, please read the Information for Candidates - specific to India - carefully. You should also check the Conditions of Tenure to ensure that your proposed course of study is covered by the Rhodes Scholarship and share the Guidance for Referees with your referees. These documents can all be accessed below.

In addition to the above documents, Rhodes Scholars in Residence in Oxford have compiled an ‘Unofficial Guide’ to support applicants in the application process. Scholars in Residence have also offered to run an open group answering applicant queries so as to even the playing field for all applicants, you will find the link to that group in the document.

National Secretary for India

Selection for the Rhodes Scholarships takes place in each constituency and is overseen by the relevant National Secretary and their team. Below you can find out who the National Secretary is and how to contact them should you need to.

Photo of National Secretary, Dhvani Mehta smiling

Dr Dhvani Mehta