Find out more about applying for the Rhodes Scholarship

Find out more about applying for the Rhodes Scholarship


You are here : Applications > East Africa

East Africa

The Rhodes Scholarships for East Africa

The Rhodes Scholarships for East Africa cover Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, South Sudan and Burundi and there is one Rhodes Scholarship available each year.

The first Scholar for East Africa took up their Scholarship in 2019. 

Kenyan citizens are not eligible for the Scholarship for East Africa but should apply instead for the Scholarship for Kenya.

Opening date: 3 June 2024
Closing date: 23:59 Eastern Africa Time, 29 August 2024

As the Rhodes Scholarships are place-based, the eligibility criteria, application requirements and selection process vary slightly depending on which constituency you are applying for. To ensure that you have all of the information you need to apply, please read the Information for Candidates - specific to East Africa - carefully. You should also check the Conditions of Tenure to ensure that your proposed course of study is covered by the Rhodes Scholarship and share the Guidance for Referees with your referees. These documents can all be accessed below.

If you have read all of the information above and are ready to apply for the Rhodes Scholarship, you can use the below button to to start the application process. Make sure to check the opening and closing dates above as the form won’t be available outside of these dates!

If you need any support with your application, please use the navigation bar to reach our Additional Resources page.

National Secretary for East Africa

Selection for the Rhodes Scholarships takes place in each constituency and is overseen by the relevant National Secretary and their team. Below you can find out who the National Secretary is and how to contact them should you need to.

Dr Samson Kironde

Deputy National Secretary for East Africa

Mr Mauro De Lorenzo