Skip to Main Content


Find out if you meet the criteria to become a Rhodes Scholar and start your application. We offer scholarships in over 22 designated Rhodes constituencies, as well as our Global Rhodes Scholarships, visit our 'Which Scholarship' page for more details.

Before you start your application we would recommend that you read through the online information on the Rhodes Scholarships and the application guidance. This information can be found across the following pages:

The Rhodes Scholarships for East Africa

East Africa covers Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, South Sudan and Burundi.

There is one Rhodes Scholarship for East Africa each year. The Scholarship for East Africa was announced in 2018 and the first Scholar will arrive in October 2019. 

Kenyan citizens are not eligible for the Scholarship for East Africa but should apply instead for the Scholarship for Kenya.

Opening date: 1 June 2021
Closing date: 23:59 Eastern Africa Time, 31 August 2021

National Secretary for East Africa

Dr Samson Kironde


*A constituency is a country, a group of countries, and/or territories, and/or states for the purposes of administering scholarships.

The Rhodes Trust warmly welcomes applications from talented young persons of diverse backgrounds. Selection of Rhodes Scholars is made without regard to gender, gender identity, marital status, sexual orientation, race, ethnic origin, colour, religion, social background, caste, or disability.