Skip to Main Content

Canadian Rhodes Scholars are invited to join us online for a workshop and series of discussions focused on how we can be a leader in our communities.

The impact of thoughtful, public-spirited leaders has been amplified over the course of the past year. Whilst we often think of leaders as political figures and CEOs, this past year has shown us that everyone has the capacity to lead and the importance of leading from where you are.

Join us online 27 - 30 May 2021 to hear from leaders across the Scholar community and reflect and how you have been and can grow as leader in your community/work/industry.

Many thanks to Kai Alderson (Ontario & Wadham 1993) and Dylan Collins (British Columbia & Christ Church 2014) for their assistance in organising this virtual weekend.

Programme Highlights

Date: 27 May 2021

Time: 4 pm PT/7 pm ET/8 pm AT (45 minutes)

Details: Welcoming remarks and opening talk: Leading Through Uncertain Times with Rahul Arora (Prairies & Balliol 2019) in conversation with Tim Evans (Ontario & University 1984)

 

Date: 28 May 2021

Time: 4 pm PT/7 pm ET/8 pm AT (60 minutes)

Details: Quiz Night! Hosted by Andrew Wilkinson (Prairies & Magdalen 1980) - Grab a beverage and join us for a few fun rounds of trivia. Gather your crew online (or join a group once you are here) to test your knowledge of all things Oxford and beyond! Feel free to pre-submit a team work with for the event – just email over a team name to pamela.chang@rhodeshouse.ox.ac.uk in advance and we’ll have a breakout room ready to go for you on Friday night.

 

Date: 29 May 2021

Time: 9 am PT/12 pm ET/1 pm AT (75 minutes)

Details: Workshop: Leadership Philosophy led by Sandy MacIver (New Brunswick & Merton 1974)

 

Time: 11 am PT /2 pm ET/3 pm AT (60 minutes)

Details: Equity, Diversity and Inclusion: How Can You lead? With Randy Boissanault (Prairies & Corpus Christi 1994), moderated by Doyin Atewologun (Dean of the Rhodes Scholarship)

 

Date: 30 May 2021

Time: 10 am PT/1 pm ET/2 pm AT

Details: Leadership Through Your Journey With Suzanna Fritzberg (Washington & St John's 2014) and Eileen Gillese (Alberta & Wadham 1977)

 

Time: 11 am PT/ 2 pm ET/3 pm AT

Details: Shadow and Light with Warden Elizabeth Kiss (Virginia & Balliol 1983) and closing remarks.

Confirmed speakers include

Registration details

You can find further details about the weekend and book your spaces here https://rscvirtualweekend2021.eventbrite.co.uk 

FAQs

Other information

The photo for this event listing is from the 2019 Canadian Alumni Conference and Sailing Weekend. If you want to look at more photos from this event they can be found in the Facebook album here - https://www.facebook.com/pg/RhodesTrust/photos/?tab=album&album_id=2504362452990105&ref=page_internal