

From the Office of the American Secretary

Elliot F. Gerson American Secretary The Rhodes Trust 8229 Boone Boulevard, Suite 240 Vienna, VA 22182-2623

November 21, 2020

703 821 5960 Fax 703 821 2770 admin@rhodesscholar.org www.rhodesscholar.org

American Rhodes Scholars-elect for 2021

(Subject to ratification by the Rhodes Trustees after acceptance by one of the colleges of Oxford University)

District 1

Massachusetts Harvard University Massachusetts

Amherst College

Shera S. Avi-Yonah Lincoln, MA

Jeremy N. Thomas Missouri City, TX

District 2

Connecticut Southern Connecticut State University **New Jersey**

United States Naval Academy

Asma Rahimyar Trumbull, CT

Lillian N. Usadi Basking Ridge, NJ

District 3

New York-South Massachusetts Institute of Technology

New York-South

Yale University

Danielle N. Grey-Stewart Westbury, NY

Brian Reves Bronx, NY

District 4

Pennsylvania

University of Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania

Lafayette College

Mackenzie Fierceton Philadelphia, PA

Victoria Puglia

Wassenaar, Netherlands

District 5

Maryland/DC Stanford University Maryland/DC University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Nicolas J.W. Fishman Samuel E. Patterson III

Washington, D.C. Marietta, GA

District 6

Georgia University of Georgia North Carolina Wake Forest University

Phaidra Buchanan Savarni Sanka Atlanta, GA Cary, NC

District 7

Florida Columbia University Florida Yale University

Santiago T. Potes Jackson S. Willis Miami, FL St. Petersburg, FL

District 8

Texas Duke University Texas United States Military Academy

Kendall M. Jefferys Evan C. Walker Keller, TX Rowlett, TX

District 9

Virginia University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Virginia United States Military Academy

Peter J. Andringa Tyrese D. Bender Vienna, VA Fairfax, VA

District 10

Ohio Ohio State University Ohio Harvard University

Daniel Lesman
Dublin, OH
Swathi R. Srinivasan
Beachwood, OH

District 11

Michigan University of Michigan Wisconsin Harvard University

Amytess F. Girgis Nkaziewoh N. Nchinda-Pungong

Grand Rapids, MI Oak Creek, WI

District 12

Kansas Johns Hopkins University Missouri Duke University

Vijayasundaram Ramasamy Jamal T. Burns Overland Park, KS St. Louis, MO District 13

Colorado United States Air Force Academy

Aryemis C. Brown Colorado Springs, CO South Dakota

South Dakota State University

Hattie J. Seten Sioux Falls, SD

District 14

Alaska

Wilfried Kuugauraq Zibell Noorvik, AK

Harvard University

Oregon

University of Virginia

Avital Z. Balwit Portland, OR

District 15

California-North University of California, Santa Cruz

California-North Alondra O. Vázquez López Yale University

San Rafael, CA

District 16

California-South

Garima P. Desai

Fremont, CA

Harvard University

California-South

Harvard University

Carissa J. Chen Tustin, CA

Elijah C. DeVaughn Compton, CA

PLEASE NOTE: Given the time challenge and complexity of 16 concurrent district selections across the United States, initial versions of the short bios and winners' list included with this press release may contain small errors, typographical and otherwise. Most are corrected within 24 hours, so always check www.rhodesscholar.org for the most up-to-date versions. In addition, you may find photos of the winners on the global Rhodes Trust website, www.rhodestrust.ox.ac.uk, where they will be uploaded as soon as practicable.