Recent Appointments and Awards for Rhodes Scholars

Please alert us to recent appointments or awards of any Rhodes Scholars by emailing or use the Rhodes Scholar Information Update form here.

The Rhodes community extends warm congratulations to Scholars listed below on their appointments and awards.

JUAN SEPÚLVEDA (Kansas & Queen's 1985)

Appointed PBS Senior Vice President, Station Services. Read more.

EDUARDO PEÑALVER (Washington & Oriel 1994)

Named Dean of Cornell Law School. Read more.

SALIM YUSUF (India & St John's 1976)

Awarded the Canada Gairdner Wightman Award, given to Canadians who have shown outstanding leadership throughout their careers. Dr Yusuf has focused on changing how cardiovascular disease is treated and prevented through large-scale clinical trials. Read more.

ANTONIO GOTTO (Tennessee & Worcester 1957)

Awarded the John Phillips Memorial Award for Outstanding Work in Clinical Medicine by the American College of Physicians. Read more.

BEN SHERWOOD (California & Magdalen 1986)

Appointed co-chairman of Disney Media Networks and president of the Disney/ABC Television Group. Read more.

TRACY ROBINSON (Jamaica & Balliol 1992)

Elected chairman of the Inter American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR). Read more.

ADHIAMBO ODAGA (Kenya & St Antony's 1986)

Appointed Managing Director of the Dangote Foundation.

ROBERT MALLEY (Connecticut & Magdalen 1984)

Appointed to the US National Security Council as senior director in charge of relations with the Gulf states and Iran. Read more.

SARAH SEWALL (Maine & New College 1984)

Appointed U.S. Under Secretary of State for Civilian Security, Democracy, and Human Rights in the Department of State and also Special Coordinator for Tibetan Issues. Read more.

IAN REID (Western Australia & St John's 1988)

Appointed Professor of Computer Science at the University of Adelaide. Awarded an Australian Research Council Laureate Fellowship. Read more.