The Rhodes Scholarships for Canada – A Partnership between the Rhodes Trust and the Second Century Founder John McCall MacBain

Welcome to the information page about the Rhodes Scholarships for Canada. 

Each year, there are eleven Scholarships available in Canada to enable outstanding students - chosen on the basis of exceptional intellect, character, leadership, and commitment to service - to study at the University of Oxford.

Canadian Rhodes Scholars  

The first Canadian Rhodes Scholars took up residence in Oxford in 1904, and since that time over a thousand Canadians have been awarded this prestigious scholarship.  They have pursued a variety of careers in public service, academia, business, law, and medicine, amongst others.  Many have achieved notable distinction, including:

  • Allan Blakeney, Premier of Saskatchewan from 1971 to 1982
  • Justice Eileen Gillese, of the Court of Appeal for Ontario
  • David Lewis, former leader of the federal New Democratic Party, and one of its original architects
  • Roland Michener, former Governor-General of Canada, Canadian High Commissioner to India, and Speaker of the Canadian House of Commons
  • Professor David Naylor, President of the University of Toronto
  • Bob Rae, Premier of Ontario, 1990-1995
  • John Turner, former Prime Minister
  • Danny Williams, Premier of Newfoundland from 2003 to 2010.

Information about Rhodes Scholars elected in Canada and around the world can be found in biographies of the Rhodes class of 2016.


Applications for the Rhodes Scholarships for 2018 will open here on 1 June 2017.

Closing date: Applications must be received by midnight, local time, 30 September 2017.

There are six regional committees in Canada responsible for the selection of eleven Scholars annually across the country:

- one Scholarship in British Columbia
- three in the Prairie provinces
- two in Ontario 
- two in Quebec
- two in the Maritimes, and 
- one in Newfoundland. 

Students from the Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut should apply in the province in which they attend university. Residents of the three territories are eligible to apply in the Prairie region if they do not attend a Canadian university.

Applicants currently studying at a Canadian university can choose to apply in either their province of residence or in the province where their university is located. In all cases, they must approach the fellowships advisor at their university and take part in the campus screening process. To proceed with a Rhodes Scholarship application, a student must first earn the endorsement of their undergraduate institution. Applications for the Scholarship are now filed online, a process which requires an authorization code available through the fellowships office at your university.

Applicants currently studying outside Canada should apply in the region in which they are normally resident. They should contact the secretary of the relevant Canadian regional committee to gain the authorization code required to proceed with the online application.

Jody Reimer (Manitoba & Merton 2011) at the 2011 Welcome day at Rhodes House

Prospective applicants from Canada should carefully review:
1. the general information about the Rhodes Scholarships,
2. the selection criteria that apply in all Rhodes constituencies, and then
3. the application criteria specific to Canada (in English) and also in French (coming soon)

Guidance for Referees for applications for 2018 can be found here.

There are also FAQs applicable to all applicants.

National Secretary for Canada:
Mr Andrew Wilkinson, QC
The Secretary
The Rhodes Scholarships in Canada
Based in Vancouver, British Columbia