The Rhodes Scholarships for Germany

Welcome to the information page for the Rhodes Scholarships in Germany.

These pages provide constituency-specific information on Rhodes Scholarships to Oxford for applicants from Germany. At the moment there are two Scholarships available each year in Germany.

Information about Rhodes Scholars elected for Germany and around the world can be found in biographies of the Rhodes class of 2014 and the Rhodes class of 2013.

German Rhodes Scholars


Applications are now closed for the Rhodes Scholarships for 2014 for Germany. 

Prospective applicants from Germany should carefully review:

1. the general information about the Rhodes Scholarship,

2. the selection criteria that apply in all Rhodes constituencies and then

3. the application criteria specific to Germany. Please note that applicants must hold German citizenship to be eligible.

There are FAQs which are applicable to all applicants.

Guidance for Referees for applications for 2013 is available here.

Once you have reviewed the information above and determined if you are eligible, please apply online.

For more information about the German Scholarships, please click here.

The committee is currently composed of the following members: Professor Dr Sharon Byrd, University of Jena (Chair); Professor Dr Gerhard Ertl, Fritz-Haber-Institut of the Max-Planck-Gesellschaft; Dr Christina Kuhn, University of Oxford; Dr Dr hc Ulf Merbold, Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR); Professor Dr Dr Nils Ole Oermann, Vice President University of Lüneburg; Jürgen Reitmaier, Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative, Berlin.

National Secretary for Germany:

Prof. Nils Ole Oermann
The Rhodes Scholarships in Germany
Leuphana University Lüneburg
Scharnhorststrasse 1
21335 Lüneburg, Germany

Telephone: +49 (0) 4131 677 1693
Fax: +49 (0) 4131 677 1687